Search Our Site
Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Homeowners Must Own a Furnace That Meets Rule 1111 Requirements

California has one of the lowest carbon dioxide emissions per capita in the United States. But because of its size and population, it has one of the highest percentages of total emissions in the country. Therefore, it’s important that the state and its residents do everything they can to save energy. Have you heard of Rule 1111? If not, you’ll start to hear about it more as temperatures cool and residents start thinking about their furnaces. The purpose of Rule 1111 is to help reduce poisonous emissions that harm human health and the environment. Here’s what homeowners in Riverside, California, need to know about Rule 1111 and how it applies to their home heating system:

Overview of Rule 1111 in Southern California

Formed in 1976, the South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) is an agency responsible for regulating stationary sources of air pollution in Southern California. The SCAQMD Governing Board implemented Rule 1111 in December 1978, which was amended in 1983, 2009, 2014 and March 2018. Rule 1111 is one of the many ways California has worked to meet the mandates of the Clean Air Act. It’s a federal law established in 1970 that regulates air emission from stationary and mobile sources.

The most significant changes to Rule 1111 have occurred in:

  • 2009: Amendment lowered Nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions from 40 to 14 nanograms per Joule (ng/J).
  • 2014: Amendment provided alternative compliance option for manufacturers to pay a mitigation fee of $200 for each condensing furnace and $150 for every other type of furnace in lieu of meeting the new lower emission limit for up to 36 months past the applicable compliance date.
  • 2018: Amendment extended the alternative compliance option by 18 months for condensing furnaces and 12 months for non-condensing and weatherized furnaces. It also increased the mitigation fee to a range between $300 and $450, depending on the type of furnace and heat input capacity.

The purpose of Rule 1111 is to reduce emissions of Nitrogen oxide (NOx) from residential and commercial gas-fired and fan-type central furnaces with a heat input capacity lower than 175,000 BTU per hour. For heating and cooling combo units, that’s a cooling rate lower than 65,000 BTU per hour. The rule applies to manufacturers, distributors, sellers, and installers of such residential and commercial furnaces.

What It Means for Homeowners in Riverside, California

Consumers should note that Rule 1111 only applies to manufacturers, distributors, sellers and installers. The technology to comply with the limits of the rule is available. But each manufacturer has chosen its own path to compliance according to their national market. Some manufacturers, distributors, sellers and installers are passing the mitigation fees to the consumers. However, the SCAQMD has field inspectors who are checking to make sure that manufacturers and businesses are complying with regulations.

Invest in a New Furnace Installation

Furnaces sold inside of the SCAQMD that don’t meet the requirements set forth by Rule 1111 must now include a label stating so. When shopping for a new furnace installation, homeowners should look for a label that reads, “For installation in SCAQMD only: This furnace is not meeting SCAQMD Rule 1111 14 ng/J NOx emission limit, and thus is subject to a mitigation fee of up to $450 and not eligible for the Clean Air Furnace Rebate Program.” When purchasing a new furnace installation that meets the requirements, customers can receive a $500 rebate at Clean Air Furnace Rebate while funds last.

Magnolia Heating and Cooling carries and installs the most energy-efficient furnaces available on the market. Our installers perform Manual J, S and D calculations for each installation. We also include strong warranties. As a result, you gain added peace of mind. To schedule your new furnace installation today, contact us at (951) 688-3524. We look forward to making sure you’re compliant with Rule 1111.


Are HVAC Quotes Negotiable?

When it comes to HVAC quotes, the answer is yes, they can be negotiable. However, it’s essential to understand a few key points to ensure

Read More